Long Service Awards

Earlier this month, we had a surprise Sunday morning visit from the Right Rev Dr Derek Browning, Moderator of the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland during his visit to St Andrews Presbytery.  In fine impromptu fashion, he took part in the Jigsaw address and gave a memorable blessing at the end of worship.

As part of the Presbytery visit The Moderator presented long service awards to Elders from many congregations.   Fourteen St Leonard’s Elders received awards totalling an amazing 480 years (!) of service.   They are:

Ian Farquhar (40 years, ordained 1970)

George McIntosh (40 years, 1976)

Irene Bennett (30 years, 1985)

Sandy Bolland (30 years, 1982)

Evelyn Grieve (30 years, 1985)

Alastair Leiper (30 years, 1985)

Ray Mackie (30 years, 1982)

Angus Peters (30 years, 1982)

Iain Ross (30 years, 1985)

all of whom were ordained at St Leonard’s, and

James Cormack (50 years, ordained 1964) at Strathblane Parish Church, Strathblane

Angela Fowlis (40 years, 1977) at Croftfoot Parish Church, Glasgow

Douglas Grey (40 years, 1975) at St Andrews Parish Church, Perth

Heather Cormack (30 years, 1987) at Cults West Parish Church, Aberdeen

Arthur Griffiths (30 years, 1985) at St Michael’s, Linlithgow



This entry was posted in Church Events and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s